When can Liverpool win their historic Premier League title? | Dailytrust

When can Liverpool win their historic Premier League title?

Liverpool’s coach Jurgen Klopp
Liverpool’s coach Jurgen Klopp

Leaders Liverpool moved a step closer to their first Premier League title this weekend, beating AFC Bournemouth 2-1 at Anfield on Saturday to move 25 points clear at the top.

And then nearest challengers Manchester City lost 2-0 at Manchester United on Sunday, meaning they are 25 points adrift with 30 left to play for.

So, the question is; “when can Liverpool mathematically be champions?”

They can actually do so without kicking another ball in the competition, securing the Premier League Trophy as early as next weekend, on 14 March.


What needs to happen?

Even if Manchester City go on a winning run from here on, Liverpool would claim the title if they triumph in their next two matches.

The second of those is at home to Crystal Palace on Saturday, 21 March, and after that they travel to Manchester City on Sunday, 5 April.


Liverpool’s next matches

Monday 16 March

Saturday 21 March

Sunday 5 April

Jurgen Klopp’s side could win the title even earlier, moving out of range before 21 March if Manchester City drop further points.

If City lose their next two matches, against Arsenal and Burnley, Liverpool would clinch the title when the final whistle goes at Turf Moor on 14 March.

One defeat for City in the next two would provide Liverpool the chance to be confirmed as champions in their Matchweek 30 fixture, by winning at the home of their Merseyside rivals, Everton, on Monday 16 March.


Earliest title win

Klopp’s side are on course to set a new date for the earliest Premier League title triumph, currently held by Manchester United, who did so on 14 April, in 2000/01.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side had five matches to spare at the time, a feat Manchester City equalled when they won the 2017/18 crown on 15 April.

Liverpool can become the first club to do so with at least six matches in hand and they could do so with nine matches remaining.

Liverpool’s last league trophy

Liverpool last won the top English league in the 1989/90 season under Kenny Dalglish.

At that time, Mohammed Salah was still two years away from being born.

Since the league was restructured as Premier League, Liverpool are yet to lift the trophy.

Within this period, Manchester United has won it in a record 13 times, Chelsea – 5, Arsenal – 3, Manchester City – 3, while Leicester City and Blackburn Rovers have managed one trophy each.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let me know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410