Senate raises panel to probe crude oil theft | Dailytrust

Senate raises panel to probe crude oil theft

Nigerian Senate
Nigerian Senate

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Thursday, constituted a 13-member ad hoc committee to probe oil theft in Nigeria and its impact on petroleum production and oil revenues.

Lawan, while constituting the panel during the plenary yesterday, named Senator Bassey Albert Akpan as chairman of the committee.

Members of the panel are Senators Yusuf A. Yusuf, Solomon Olamilekan Adeola, Kabiru Gaya, Mohammed Adamu Aliero, George Thompson Sekibo, and Gabriel Suswam.

Others are senators Kashim Shettima, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi, Ali Ndume, Stella Oduah, Sani Musa, and Ibrahim Gobir.

The ad hoc committee was given one month to conclude work on investigations and report back to the chamber in plenary.

Crude oil theft has been rampant in Nigeria and just last week, the Group Managing Director of Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Ltd, Mele Kyari, said the country lost $1.5 billion worth of crude oil to theft between January and early April 2022.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410