Sanwo-Olu establishes 2 new universities for Lagos | Dailytrust

Sanwo-Olu establishes 2 new universities for Lagos

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu
Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu

The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu Wednesday signed the bills for the establishment of additional two universities in the state into law.

The bills assented to by the governor converted the Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH) to the Lagos State University of Science and Technology while it merged the Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (AOCOD), Ijanikin and the Michael Otedola College of Primary Education (MOCOPED), Epe to become Lagos State University of Education (LASUED).

This is in addition to the existing Lagos State University (LASU), established in 1982 by the first Executive Governor of Lagos State, the late Alhaji Lateef Jakande.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by the Special Adviser to the Governor on Education, Tokunbo Wahab; the Commissioner for Justice and Attorney-General, Mr Moyosore Onigbanjo (SAN) as well as members of the governing councils and management staff of the tertiary institutions, among others.

Wahab explained that the establishment of (LASUED) and Lagos State University of Science and Technology, would solve issues relating to admission for Lagos State citizens.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410