Reps Yako, Datti defect to APC | Dailytrust

Reps Yako, Datti defect to APC

Rep Ali Datti Yako of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) alongside Rep. Danjuma Datti of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) from Taraba State.

Their defections were announced by the Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila, on the floor of the House on Tuesday.

Yako defeated Abdulmumini Jibrin in the by-election held after a Court ordered the re-run for Bebeji/Kiru federal constituency of Kano State.

It has been widely believed that he won the election based on an arrangement with some forces within the APC that were against Jibrin.

Many people also believed that one of the conditions for the support from the APC was that he agreed to defect after winning the election.

Announcing the defections, the Speaker said the members defected to the APC based on their convictions and agreement with their constituents.