✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters
Click Here To Listen To Trust Radio Live

Reps’ race: Buhari’s nephew, others, lose APC tickets as Doguwa, Betara win

President Muhammadu Buhari’s nephew, Fatuhu Muhammad, has lost the bid to get a re-election ticket for Daura/Sandamu/Maiadua Federal Constituency. Fatuhu is a House of Representatives…

President Muhammadu Buhari’s nephew, Fatuhu Muhammad, has lost the bid to get a re-election ticket for Daura/Sandamu/Maiadua Federal Constituency.

Fatuhu is a House of Representatives member under the All Progressives Congress (APC). He lost the primaries to Aminu Jamu.

Announcing the results on Friday night at Daura Local Government Secretariat, the returning officer, Bala Zango, said Jamu polled 117 votes to emerge as the winner.

Meanwhile, the Majority Leader, House of Representatives, Alhassan Ado Doguwa, has gotten the ticket of the All Progressives Congress unopposed to contest in the 2023 general elections.

Doguwa, who is representing Doguwa/Tudun Wada Federal Constituency in Kano State, got the ticket after winning the party primaries to represent his constituency for the 7th time.

The lawmaker, who is the most ranking member, was a member of the House in the defunct Third Republic.

In the same vein, the Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations, Rep Muktar Aliyu Betara, has emerged the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Biu/Bayo/Kwaya/Kusar and Shani Federal Constituency of Borno State unopposed, ahead of the 2023 National Assembly polls. 

Betara, who recently received overwhelming support from the people of his constituency who contributed money to purchase the nomination and expression of interest forms for him, is coming back to the House for the fifth term.

Returning officer for the primary election, Dr. Amadu Umar Babaye, while announcing the result of the exercise, said Betara polled 194 votes to emerge victorious.

Responding, Betara expressed gratitude to his constituents and stakeholders for believing in him saying, together, they would achieve the goal of good governance for the masses.

Similarly, the member representing Jalingo/Yorro/Zing, Maigari Bello Kasimu has secured the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket for the 2023 elections.

4 Reps lose tickets in Jigawa

At least, four of the 11 serving members of the House of Representatives from Jigawa State have failed in their bid to return to the green chambers of the National Assembly come 2023.

The winners and losers emerged during the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election for the National and House of Assembly seats held on Friday at eleven federal constituencies in Jigawa State

Among the lawmakers who lost are Muhammad Gudaji Kazaure representing Kazaure/Yankwashi/Gwiwa/Roni Federal Constituency; Yusuf Shitu Shitu Galambi representing Gwaram Federal Constituency; Ado Sani Kiri Ringim/Taura Federal Constituency did not contest as the ticket was won by Sa’ad Wada Taura, while and Muhammad Musa Fagen Gawo of Babura/ Garki Federal Constituency lost to Aminu Kanta Babura.


By Balarabe Alkassim, Itodo Daniel Sule & Mohammed Abubakar Dutse

Join Daily Trust WhatsApp Community For Quick Access To News and Happenings Around You.

UPDATE: Nigerians in Nigeria and those in diaspora can now be paid in US Dollars. Premium domains can earn you as much as $17,000 (₦27 million).

Click here to start earning.