✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters

PSC awards two officers double promotion, elevates 40 DCPs to CPs

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the approval of double promotion for two officers of the Nigeria Police Force. The duo were promoted from…

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the approval of double promotion for two officers of the Nigeria Police Force.

The duo were promoted from the rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) to the rank of Commissioners of Police (CPs).

Lalong honours police officer who rejected $200,000 bribe

How Lagos policemen tagged me criminal, collected N100,000 with POS – Victim

Ideally, they were supposed to be promoted to the rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) from their previous rank.

But the PSC said the two beneficiaries deserved accelerated promotion due to existing vacancy in the medical cadre, among other factors.

The two beneficiaries are: an Officer-in-Charge, Medical Rivers State Command, Nkechi Eze and Officer-in-Charge, Medical Taraba State Command, Garba Emmanuel Nzukwen.

The spokesman for the Commission, Ikechukwu Ani, disclosed this in Abuja on Friday after an interactive session with the Commission in Plenary chaired by the acting chairman, Justice Clara Ogunbiyi (retd).

Ani also said the Commission approved the promotion of 40 DCPs to the substantive rank of Commissioners of Police.

He said the PSC also approved the promotion of CP Abdul Yari Lafia and CP Rudouf Echebi to the rank of Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG).

Ani added that the date of promotion of Yari who was until his elevation, Commissioner of Police, Training was earlier considered and adjusted by the Commission which qualified him for promotion.

He quoted Ogunbiyi to have called on the beneficiaries of the new ranks to rededicate themselves to the service of the country.

She noted that they should bring into their new offices their varied experiences to help mitigate the ravaging security problems in the country, especially now that the nation is going into general elections.

Ogunbiyi said the Commission will continue to ensure that police promotions are not delayed and that the exercise will be fair, just and based on seniority and availability of vacancies.

The new Commissioners of Police are; Adebola Ayinde Hamzat, presently DCP, SCID, Ondo state Command; Idegwu Basil Okuoma, DCP Federal Operations, Force Headquarters Abuja; Zachariah Dera Achinyan, National Defence College Abuja; Sule Balarebe, DCP DFA, Sokoto State Command; Zango Ibrahim Baba, DCP SFU, FCIID Annex, Lagos; Maiyaki Mohammed Baba, DCP Admin, Kebbi State Command; Ishiaku Mohammed, DCP Finance Force Headquarters; Margret Agebe Ochalla, Team Leader, IGP Monitoring Unit and presently Gender Coordinator of the Nigeria Police Force; Benneth Igwe, DCP OPs FCT Command and Mohammed Abdul Suleiman, second in command, Force Education Officer.

Others are; Ajala Elijah Ayoola, DCP FMIU, Lagos; Romokere God’sGift Ibani, DCP SCID, Abia State Command; Akika Augustine, Deputy Commandant, Police College, Ikeja; Peter W. wagbara, DCP Admin, Rivers State Command; Ogundare Dare Emmanuel, DCP SCID, Kebbi State Command; Chris Omonzokpea Aimionowane, DCP Ops Zone 13 Ukpo; Augustina Nwuka Ogbodo, former DCP Admin, FCT Command and presently in FCIID, Abuja; Polycarp Chilaka Dibia, DCP Zone 6 Benin; Ogunrinde Banji, DCP Force CID, Annex Lagos; Sybil Olufunmilayo Akinfenwa, DCP Homicide, FCIID Annex Lagos; Ita Lazarus Uko-Udom DCP DFA Zone 12 Bauchi; Samuel Titus Musa, DCP SCID, Enugu State Command and Ochogwu Abbas Ogbeh, second in command, Force Legal.

The newly promoted Commissioners also include; John Ayuba Babangida, DCP DFA, Ekiti State Command; Kayode Adetunmbi, DCP Ops, Zone 9 Umuahia; Aderemi Olufemi Adeoye, DCP OPs Anambra State Command; Dayo Ariyo, DCP Boarder Patrol; Stephen Olarewaju, DCP, DFA, Nasarawa State Command; Remigius Okwor, DCP, DCP Force Headquarters Police Accounts and Budget Annex Lagos; Kenechukwu Onwuemelie, DCP SCID, Ogun State Command; Fayodade Adegoke Mustapha, DCP SCID Lagos State Command; Adegboyega Funsho Adegboye, DCP OPs Ondo State Command; Umar Shehu Nadada, DCP OPs Nasarawa State Command; Mustapha Mohammed Bala, DCP SCID Imo State Command; Taiwo Olatunde Adeleke, DCP OPs PAP Western Command Lagos; Ibrahim Abdullahi, DCP General Investigation FIICD; Akinwale Adeniran, DCP DFA, Zone 8 Lokoja; Mamman Dauda, DCP OPs Zamfara State Command; Mohammed Bala Labbo, DCP Communication, Kebbi State Command and Umaru Madaki, DCP Nursing, Kano State Command.

The Commission further approved the promotion of three Assistant Commissioners to Deputy Commissioners of Police and one Superintendent of Police to Chief Superintendent of Police.