PDP chieftain Anyim, Sanwo-Olu, others to receive Zik Prize | Dailytrust

PDP chieftain Anyim, Sanwo-Olu, others to receive Zik Prize

Anyim Pius Anyim
Anyim Pius Anyim

A former President of the Senate and Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Anyim Pius Anyim and Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu are to receive the Year 2020 Zik Prize in Leadership in Lagos on Sunday, November 7, 2021.

Others to receive the Prize are the President of the African Development Bank (AfDB), Akinwunmi Adesina and Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Mele Kyari.

The announcement for the winners of the Year 2020 Zik Prize in Leadership Award was made on Thursday, September 23, 2021 in Lagos by Prof Pat Utomi, the Chairman of the selection committee on behalf of the members of the board of Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre (PRAC).

Senator Anyim, who has declared interest to run for president in the 2023 presidential election, whether the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) zones the position to the South East or not, during the recently concluded national convention of the party in Abuja, won the Zik Prize in Political Leadership category alongside Minister for Health, Senator Olorunimbe Mamora.

Addressing newsmen at the weekend while declaring his interest, the PDP Chieftain said, “Posters of my presidential bid and agitations by groups for me to contest flooded the social media in 2020 and I disassociated myself from such calls.

“I felt that it was too early for such declarations to enable the present administration concentrate on governance.

“Such calls resurfaced in the early part of 2021 and I choose to be quiet over the issue.

“We presently have less than 18 months to the next elections and I feel the time was ripe to indicate my interest.”

The Ebonyi-born politician and Nigerian leader is being honoured in recognition of his exemplary leadership qualities shown when occupying the offices of the Senate President and the SGF.

Governors Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State and Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State will be honoured with the Year 2020 Zik Prize in Good Governance while Adesina, Kyari and the Director-General of the Nigerian Maritime and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Dr Bashir Jamoh will be honoured for the achievements in Public Service.

Others are Group Managing Director of FBN Holdings Plc, Mr U.K. Eke and Pioneer MD/CEO, Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA), Uche Orji, will be honoured in the Professional Excellence category and a former First Lady of Akwa Ibom State, Mrs Ekaette Akpabio, will be recognised in the Humanitarian Leadership category.

The event will have Chief John Nnia Nwodo as Chairman and the Emir of Kano, Alhaji Aminu Ado Bayero as the Royal Guest of Honour.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410