NJC recommends appointment of chief judges, 31 others | Dailytrust

NJC recommends appointment of chief judges, 31 others

National Judicial Council NJC
National Judicial Council NJC
The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended the appointment of six chief judges and 31 others as judicial officers in some states and the FCT.
The decision was reached at the 95th meeting of the council held on September 15 and 16, 2021.
The council considered the list of candidates presented by its interview committee and recommended the 37 successful candidates to their respective state governors for appointment as heads of courts and other judicial officers in Nigeria.
Those recommended as chief judges are Justices Richard O. Olorunfemi (Kogi); Joe Itsebaga Acha (Edo); Justice Akintoroye Williams Akin (Ondo); Husseini Baba Yusuf (FCT); Ekaette Francesca Fabian-Obot (Akwa Ibom) and J. O. Adeyeye (Ekiti).
Others are Baba Gana Mahdi as Grand Kadi, Yobe; Umaru Ahmad Liman as Grand Kadi, Bauchi; Justice Osagede Osado Emmanuel as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Nasarawa; Justice Mashud Akintunde Akinfemi Abass as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Oyo State and Siyaka Momoh Jimoh Usman as President Customary Court of Appeal, Kogi State.
Three judges -Zainab Abdulkadir Rasheed, Abdussalam Muhammad and Daurabo Suleiman Sikka – are recommended for the high court of Gombe.
There are Effiong Asukwo Effiong and Princess Eme Daniel Ekong for Akwa Ibom while Bauchi has one, Nana Fatima Jibril, and Kaduna High Court has two, including Abdulkarim Mahmud.
The three candidates recommended for Katsina State are Kabir Shuaibu, Ibrahim Ishaku Mashi and Ibrahim Abubakar Mande while Professor Alero Akeredolu was recommended for Ondo State.
Four successful candidates for Oyo State High Court are Olusola Adebisi Adetujoye, Folabimpe Beatrice Segun Olakojo, Professor Taiwo Elijah Adewale and Kareem Adeyimika Adedokun.
Kogi State has three candidates for its high court and they are Abubakar Sule Ibrahim, Abdullah Sulyman as well as Aminu Ali Eri.
Two Kadis for Gombe Sharia Court of Appeal are Adamu Kuna Jibril and Ahmed Baba Bala, while the four for Bauchi are Musa Sani Abubakar, Mahdi Manga, Khamis Al-Hamidallah Muhammad and Sani Musa.
Ondo State has one in the person of Orimisan James Okorisa and the Oyo Customary Court of Appeal has Ajadi Olubukola Omolayo.
A statement on Sunday by NJC’s Director of Information, Soji Oye, said all the recommended candidates are expected to be sworn in after approval by President Muhammadu Buhari and the respective state assemblies.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410