Malami, Tallen, Sylva attend FEC meeting | Dailytrust

Malami, Tallen, Sylva attend FEC meeting

Three ministers who withdrew their participation in the coming primaries of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Wednesday attended the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

The affected cabinet members who participated at the meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari were Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen; and Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva.

While Malami attended the cabinet meeting physically, Tallen and Sylva joined virtually.

The AGF had shown interest to become Governor of Kebbi State; the women affairs minister picked the nomination forms to run for a senatorial seat in Plateau State, while her counterpart in the Ministry of Petroleum Resources, had followed similar route to secure the APC presidential ticket.

Last Friday, the President bade farewell to outgoing members of the Federal Executive Council at a brief ceremony held at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

However, some of them, including the Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Malami, Sylva, and Tallen withdrew from the contest after attending the valedictory session.

Meanwhile, before the start of the FEC meeting, a minute silence was held in honour of former Minister of Communications under Gen. Ibrahim Babangida regime, Olawole Adeniji Ige, who died at 83.

The  meeting is being attended physically by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha; Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (HOCSF), Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari, and National Security Adviser, Major General Babagana Munguno (retd).

Also in attendance are the Ministers of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, Power, Abubakar Aliyu, Federal Capital Territory, Mohammed Bello, Aviation, Hadi Sirika, Communication and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, Environment, Mohammed Abdullahi, Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, and Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama

Others are Ministers of State for Health, Olorunimbe Mamora, Agriculture, Mustapha Shehuri and Budget and National Planning, Clem Agba.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410