Jigawa bye-election: APC wins Gwaram Federal Constituency | Dailytrust

Jigawa bye-election: APC wins Gwaram Federal Constituency

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Yusuf Galami, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in Saturday’s bye-election to fill the Gwaram Federal Constituency seat in Jigawa, has emerged victorious.

Ahmad Shehu, the Returning Officer, after collating results from the 248 polling units, declared that Mr Galambi polled 29,372 votes to defeat PDP’s Kamilu Inuwa, who polled 10,047 votes.

“Galambi, having secured the highest number of votes in the bye-election, is hereby declared the winner,” Mr Shehu stated in Gwaram on Sunday.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, declared the seat of Gwaram Federal Constituency vacant after the death of Honorable Hassan Yuguda Kila who previously represented the constituency.

Killa died at the National Hospital, Abuja, after a brief illness in March.