Imo APGA guber: 6 disqualified as Ohakim, Ararume battle for ticket | Dailytrust

Imo APGA guber: 6 disqualified as Ohakim, Ararume battle for ticket

The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has disqualified six governorship aspirants ahead of its governorship primary in Imo state to be held for Friday.

Among those disqualified is a frontline contender, Senator Bright Nwanne.

The NWC however cleared 13 other aspirants to run in an election that could make or mar the fortunes of the party the state.

Among others cleared was a former governor of the state, Ikedi Ohakim, Senator Ifeanyi Ararume,former speaker of the state House of Assembly, Ike Ibe, former member of the House of representatives, Uche Onyeaguocha, among others .

Others disqualified apart from , Nwanne, were Chike Nsofor, Nnakolam Ibekwe, Obi Njoku,Charles Onyeagbako and Charles Onuoha.

A statement signed by APGA national chairman, Victor Oye, disclosed that while Nwanne, Njoku, Onyeagbako and Onuoha were not granted waivers to run, Ibekwe and Nsofor were “inactive members of the party.”

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Donate or sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Media Trust Ltd

Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410