✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters

IGP withdraws policemen attached to Babachir, Fani-Kayode, Emeka Offor, 57 others

Those deployed to Senate President and Speaker, House of Representatives are exempted.

The Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Mohammed Adamu, has ordered that police officers attached to a former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal, a former aviation minister, Femi Fani-Kayode; a billionaire business tycoon, Emeka Offor; and 57 others be withdrawn immediately.

This latest directive is coming few weeks after Adamu announced that men of the force attached to VIPs be withdrawn without mentioning those affected.

Though, he had exempted the ones deployed to State House, Senate President, Ahmad Lawan and Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

This is happening after President Muhammadu Buhari announced a reform of the police in Nigeria.

The police chief had, via a Wireless Message dated October 21, 2020, and addressed virtually to all Zonal Assistant Inspector- Generals (AIGs) and all state Commissioners of Police with signal number and reference number: DTO210900/19/2020 and CB: 4001/DOPS/SPU/FHQ/ABU/VOL./ORDER AND DIRECTIVES respectively, warned that “any commander who violates this order will bear the consequences.”

The latest order was contained in a letter with reference no. CB: 4001/IGP. SEC/ABJ/VOL. 116/32 dated November 4, and addressed to Commissioners of Police, Police Mobile Force, Special Protection Unit and all Commissioners of Police in the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory.

The letter, signed by the Principal Staff Officer to the IGP, DCP Idowu Owohunwa, dated November 4, noted that some clerics and corporate and religious bodies across the country were affected.

The affected establishments are: The Christ Embassy, Think Nigeria First Initiative, Uche Sylva International, Stanel Groups, KYC Holding, among others.

Other persons on the list include; former Sen. Lado Yakubu, Amb. Yuguda Bashir, Uche Chukwu, Sen. Boroface Ajayi, Mutiu Nicholas, Sen. Tokunbo Afikuyomi, Edozie Madu, David Adesanya, Chris Giwa, Chief Godwin Ekpo, Chief Pius Akinyelure among others.