‘Hunger, destitution, desperation caused Calabar uprising’ | Dailytrust

‘Hunger, destitution, desperation caused Calabar uprising’

The Cross River Caucus in the National Assembly says that some of the perpetrators involved in the uprising that ensued last weekend in the state were motivated by hunger, destitution and desperation.

Cross River, among several other states, witnessed wanton destruction of public and private property, vandalism, looting and arson after the EndSARS protest was hijacked by hoodlums.

The incidents in Calabar occurred between the night of Friday, 23rd and Sunday, 25th October 2020.

The federal lawmakers, in a joint statement on Thursday, appealed to the youths in the state to shun violence and engage the government through a constructive and proactive approach.

They also urged all well-meaning Cross Riverians to protect and defend Calabar and Cross River State from hoodlums.

The statement said: “We have heard your cries and are committed to addressing your plight.

“We, therefore, appeal to our dear youths, elders, political leaders, religious leaders and traditional institutions for a more constructive and proactive approach to reach an understanding and the resolution that violence is not only a threat to a functional society (the common aspiration of us all), but clouds cogent and justified objectives, impedes on the pace of addressing the initial grievances expressed through peaceful protest and compounds the financial cost on tax payers with the refurbishment of government properties and curbing insecurity within the State.

”The wind of the peaceful #EndSARS protests that blew across the country for the past three weeks has left a bold mark for government and public officers to become more conscionable representatives in delivering the dividends of democracy and in our sensitivity to the welfare of the people, ensuring a change of attitude in service.

“The truth is; it will never be business as usual, as all of us are behind this legitimate movement by our people.

“Your demands will be given prompt consideration, please be patient with us.”

The statement was signed by Senator Gershom Bassey (leader), Senator Sandy Onor, Hon. Essien Ayi, Hon. Daniel Asuquo, Hon. Jaribe Agom, Hon. Legor Idagbo, Hon. Chris Agibe, Hon. Mike Itaba, Hon. Ettah Mbora and Hon. Alex Egbona.