FCT council chairmen pledge loyalty to minister | Dailytrust

FCT council chairmen pledge loyalty to minister

The minister of state for FCT, Hajiya Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu

The six area council chairmen in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have pledged loyalty to the Minister of State for the territory, Dr Ramatu Tijanni Aliyu.

The Area Councils Services Secretariat of the FCT Administration which is also under the purview of the minister, also vowed its undivided loyalty to the minister.

In a joint press statement issued by the six area council chairmen and FCT Area Council Services Secretariat to debunk media reports that the two were insubordinate to the minister, the chairman, Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Hon. Abdullahi Adamu Candido, who signed on behalf of the council chairmen, said, the chairmen cannot work at cross purposes with the FCTA administration and the National Assembly that carries out oversight functions on them.

“We are not just loyal to the FCT Minister of State, Dr Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu, but also to our esteemed representatives at the National Assembly. As area council heads, we cannot work in silos if we must deliver dividends of democracy to our residents.

On her part, the Ag. Secretary of FCT Area Council Services Secretariat, Mrs Omolola Olanipekun, also discredited the report, saying the Area Council and the secretariat were working harmoniously in driving the policies of the administration.