Emefiele, Zulum, Adesina bag Leadership person of the year award | Dailytrust

Emefiele, Zulum, Adesina bag Leadership person of the year award

Governor Babagana Zulum of Borno State
Governor Babagana Zulum of Borno State

The trio of Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mr Godwin Emefiele; the President of the African Development Bank (AfDB), Dr Akinwunmi Adesina; and the Governor of Borno State, Professor Babagana Umara Zulum, have emerged joint Leadership Persons of the Year 2020.

The award was conferred on them at the 2020 Leadership Conference and Awards held in Abuja.

The organisers said Emefiele was awarded the Leadership Person of the Year 2020: “For a lifestyle of service that held the economy and the nation together in the face of a monumental global crisis; for his consequential interventions that turn crises to moments of economic opportunity, and for positively redefining the role of the Central Bank”.

The award was presented to Emefiele by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, who was represented at the event by his deputy in charge of Economic Policy, Dr Kingsley Obiora.

Other recipients of the award were Governors Mai Mala Buni (Yobe) and Godwin Obaseki (Edo), who were awarded Politicians of the Year 2020.

The trio of Governors Ezenwo Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) and Abdulrahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara), were named Governors of the Year 2020.

The Public Person of the Year 2020 went to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Mustapha, for discharging his duties meticulously as Chairman of the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on Covid-19.

Mr Herbert Wigwe, the Managing Director of Access Bank, was awarded the Banker of the Year 2020 and the co-founder of Waltersmith, Abdulrazak Kutepa, was named Business Person of the Year 2020.

Also awarded were the late Flight Officer Tolulope Sarah Arotile, who received a posthumous award of Outstanding Person of the Year 2020; Osita Izunaso and Badamasi Burji as Social Impact Persons of the Year; Shola Akinlade, the CEO and co-founder of Paystack, as CEO of the Year 2020.

Ndubuisi Emmanuel Egbo bagged Sports Person of the Year 2020 and Folarin Falana, also known as Falz, as Artiste of the Year 2020.

Making up the list of awardees were Taj Bank (Bank of the Year 2020); Indomie (Brand of the Year 2020); the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), and the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 (Government Agencies of the Year (2020).

Others were Jiji Nigeria (E-Commerce Company of the Year 2020); HIS Towers (ICT/Telecom Company of the Year 2020); 54gene (Company of the Year 2020); and Zoom Video Communications (Product of the Year 2020).

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410