Defection: Taraba assembly declares 4 lawmakers’ seats vacant | Dailytrust

Defection: Taraba assembly declares 4 lawmakers’ seats vacant

The Taraba State House of Assembly has declared the seats of four members vacant. This followed a resolution at the Wednesday plenary.

The affected lawmakers are: Abel Peter Diah (Mbamnga), Mark Useni (Takum 2), Gambo Maikudi (Bali 1) and Josiah Aji (Wukari 2).

Military moves to flush out soldiers with ‘divided loyalty’

Media sustainability on front burner as ICIR clocks 10

Daily Trust gathered that the action of the House followed a communication from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state querying the defection of the lawmakers.

The affected lawmakers, who defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC), were absent during the sitting.

One of the affected lawmakers, Mark Useni, confirmed the development, saying that he had not been communicated to.

“We are in Abuja, I heard about it and I can’t comment on something I was not given any paper,” he said.


Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410