Daily Trust’s Ojoma Akor Wins ICFJ Global nutrition reporting contest | Dailytrust

Daily Trust’s Ojoma Akor Wins ICFJ Global nutrition reporting contest

The health editor of Daily Trust, Ojoma Akor, has emerged finalist of the 2021 Global Nutrition and Food security Reporting Contest.

Leon Lidigu, a Kenyan journalist won first place, Srishti Jaswal of India took second place while Akor won third place.

The award is given by the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) in partnership with the Eleanor Crook Foundation, a U.S.-based philanthropy solely dedicated to the fight against malnutrition.

ICFJ in a statement on Wednesday announced that Akor came third for her story about a rural community’s efforts to stave off hunger in orphans.

“Congratulations to the winners of the Nutrition and Food Security Reporting Contest. The dynamic reporting from each of the participants serves as an important reminder of the incredible power of storytelling,” said Will Moore, CEO of the Eleanor Crook Foundation.

“They represent the thousands of courageous journalists the world over who are working every day to bring increased attention to underreported issues, including the worsening global malnutrition crisis. These stories are key to ensuring vulnerable communities have access to lifesaving care.”

The storytelling contest is part of a broader Global Nutrition and Food Security Reporting Fellowship Program, which offers training and resources to help journalists in the U.S. and around the world gain a better understanding of COVID-19’s impacts on global hunger, malnutrition, and food security as well as opportunities to increase resilience for the most vulnerable populations in a post-pandemic world.

Malnutrition is the leading cause of childhood deaths in the world.

Akor has also won other international awards and fellowships, including the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF)’s Global Health Reporting Initiative, International AIDS Society (IAS) media fellowship , (multiple times) and Merck Foundation Media Recognition award, among others.



Click the link above to visit.