✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters
Click Here To Listen To Trust Radio Live

Customs win 2022 Mark D Ball Men’s basketball championship

Nigeria Customs were, on Sunday night, crowned Champions of the 2022 Mark D Ball Men’s Basketball Tournament, after inflicting a 61-55 defeat on the new…

Nigeria Customs were, on Sunday night, crowned Champions of the 2022 Mark D Ball Men’s Basketball Tournament, after inflicting a 61-55 defeat on the new Abuja franchise, Mo Heat, in the final of the Elite 8 tournament.

The match was played at the Indoor Sports Hall, located in Package B, of the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja.

The finalé was watched by a capacity crowd and graced by eminent personalities, including a representative of the minister of Youth and Sports Development, Abba Yola, a former Senator respresenting Kogi West Senitoral district, Dino Melaye and directors of Sports from the FCT, Plateau, Niger and Benue states.

D’Tigers player, Ibe Agu, who captained Customs, contributed 17 points, 2 fewer than his team mate, Michael Daramola, whose 19 points was matched by Mo Heat’s top scorer, Bright Akhuetie, while Owen Michael could only manage 13 points for the Mo Heat, who literarily lost their way in the last quarter.

Mo Heats were unbeaten and favourites to take the title, having already beaten the Customs side in the build of to the final.

The first quarter ended 15-15, with both teams fighting hard in the second quarter and even at the end of the 3rd quarter, it was still a tight game at 47 baskets, apiece.

Nigeria Customs started the last quarter with more zeal and purpose, pulled away, and eventually were able to hold off a late challenge mounted by Mo Heats to win the final by 6 points.

Victory ensured that they emulated their ladies, who also won the women’s tournament, played towards the end of 2021.

On the other hand, the defeat for Mo Heat was their first and only in the 32-team tournament.

The Winners, Nigeria Customs got a N2 million cheque as Prize Money while the losing finalist, Mo Heat, took home N1.5 million.

Kanyinsola Odufuwa was the top scorer with 25 points, while Wisedom Anyaoha had 17 dunks as Gombe Bulls won the 3rd place game that preceded the final, by again beating Kano Pillars, 67-62 to take the bronze medal, and N1 million as prize money.

The Bulls had also prevailed 63-57 against the Sai Masu Gida when both sides met earlier in the final 8; and their undoing was over relying on veteran captain, Abubakar Usman, whose 14 points and 2 assists fell short of unsettling the Bulls from Gombe, who triumphed despite not having their Head Coach on the bench.

Meanwhile, Sen Dino Melaye donated N300,000 to the winners and N200,000 to the beaten finalits.

The other four teams that contested for honours in the final-8 are HotCoal Ballers of Abuja, FCT HardRockers, Kwara Falcons of Ilorin and Delta Force of Asaba.

VERIFIED: It is now possible to live in Nigeria and earn salary in US Dollars with premium domains, you can earn as much as $12,000 (₦18 Million).
Click here to start.