Curtain falls on Edo 2020 as Delta tops medals table | Dailytrust

Curtain falls on Edo 2020 as Delta tops medals table

Action recorded in the basketball finals between Team Gombe and Team Lagos on Monday at the 2020 National Sports Festival in Benin City
  • … Kaduna, Delta, Oyo bid to host 21st edition


After nearly twelve days of exhilarating actions, the 2020 National Sports Festival in Benin City, the Edo State capital will end today with defending champions Team Delta retaining their title.

The Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo is expected to declare the 20th edition of the biennial sports festival closed at the Samuel Ogbemudia stadium with some high profile performances as well as the traditional finals of the relay events.

According to a statement signed by the project manager, Ebomhiana Musa, the event will last for three hours from 6pm to 9pm with the vice president declaring the games closed after which the torch of unity which was lit at the start of the games will be extinguished.

“The only sporting event slated for the day will be the relay, mixed relay, 4×100 meters and 4x400meters for men and women.

“Three A class artistes, Franchize, Joeboy and Teni have been lined up to spice up the closing ceremony while there will be a parade by athletes,” the statement said.

With the ‘Nigeria Olympic’ coming to an end, Delta State as at Tuesday had garnered unassailable 329 medals comprising 139 gold, 98 silver and 92 bronze while Edo is second with 309 medals comprising 118 gold, 100 silver and 91 bronze.

Bayelsa is third with 154 medals consisting of 50 gold, 49 silver and 55 bronze.

According to the medals table released yesterday night, 30 states including FCT had gold medals, 31 states had silver while 35 states had bronze medals.

Yobe, Katsina, Kebbi, Adamawa, Sokoto, Benue and Taraba didn’t win a single gold medal.

Meanwhile, indications have emerged that the hosting right for the 21st edition of the National Sports Festival will be keenly contested by the Kaduna, Delta and Oyo State.

Kaduna had submitted its bid before the duo of Oyo and Delta also indicated their interest.