Coach Musa committed to Kano Pillars despite CAF ‘A’ licence ‘mishap’ | Dailytrust
Home - Dailytrust

Coach Musa committed to Kano Pillars despite CAF ‘A’ licence ‘mishap’

Coach Ibrahim Musa has said even as he is not going to be the one to lead Kano Pillars football club in next year’s CAF Confederation Cup, he is still committed to the success of the club.

The rule from the continental body that only coaches with CAF ‘A’ licence will head the technical crew of clubs in its competitions has effectively knocked out Coach Musa of Kano Pillars, Fatai Osho of Enyimba and Abdul Maikaba of Plateau United.

Only Coach Stanley Eguma who holds CAF ‘A’ licence is qualified to lead Rivers United in the CAF Confederation Cup.

Consequently, Kano Pillars have already set up a committee to find a competent and CAF ‘A’ licensed coach to lead the team in the continent.

Musa who spoke to Daily Trust on Monday said he is willing to work with any coach who would be appointed to lead Pillars’ technical crew in the continental competition.

Musa also said immediately after his CAF ‘B’ licence, he applied for CAF ‘A’ but since 2013, the Nigeria Football Federation has failed to organise another course.

“I want to put things in the right perspective. I am not against the decision by Pillars to hire a Technical Adviser. I am aware that the decision is necessitated by the directive from CAF.

“However, the directive does not forbid someone with a CAF ‘B’ licence from serving as Coach. So I am willing to work with anyone who will be appointed as Technical Adviser of Kano Pillars.

“I am always after the interest of the club. I want us to win laurels and anything that will make it possible, I will support it. So whoever is coming will enjoy my maximum co-operation,” he said.

It will be recalled that in 2018, the coach who is already making effort to go for his CAF ‘A’ licence in Ghana led Pillars to finish as runners up in both the league and Aiteo Cup.

Musa then went a step higher in 2018/2019 by leading the club to second place in the league and champions in the Aiteo Cup.