✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters

Buhari confers national honours on Anyaoku, Tinubu’s wife, Emefiele, 337 others

President Muhammadu Buhari has conferred national honours on a former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth, Emeka...

President Muhammadu Buhari has conferred national honours on a former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth, Emeka Anyaoku, and 339 other distinguished Nigerians.

The Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs announced the awards in their various cadres.

Anyaoku was conferred with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON). Also, former governors Bisi Akande (Osun) and Olusegun Osoba (Ogun); Mamman Daura, and the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor, Godwin Emefiele, among others are to receive Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR).

Also, Afrobeat star, David Adeleke aka Davido, and ace filmmaker, Kunle Afolayan, are among other notable Nigerians listed as recipients of the 2023 national awards.

Davido, popular for his sublime afrobeat songs in Nigeria and abroad, bagged the award of Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON).

Afolayan, a multiple-award-winning movie producer whose productions are widely acknowledged to have facilitated the path to a new Nollywood, was also awarded the OON.

Meanwhile, Napoli and Super Eagles striker, Victor Osimhen, also made the list as he was awarded a Member of The Order of Federal Republic (MFR) after a phenomenal season with the Partenopei, helping them clinch their first Serie A title in 33 years.

While socialite and businessman, Terry Waya, was awarded in the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) cadre, the late Publisher of Leadership Newspapers, Samuel Ndanusa Isaiah, popularly known as Sam Nda-Isaiah, was honoured with OFR posthumous.

Also to be conferred with CFR are Major-General Samuel A. Adebayo; a former Secretary-General of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), Mohammed Bakindo (posthumous); traditional rulers, including the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Olalekan Mohood Ishola Balogun; HRM Matthew Alaji Opaluwa Oguche Akpa; HRH Mohammed Sani Haliru Dantoro Kitoro IV; HRH Mohammed Hamim Nuhu Sanusi; Herbert Onyewumbu Wigwe; Engineer Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu and Minister of Aviation, Senator Hadi Abubakar Sirika.

Former and serving governors, outgoing ministers, senators, and traditional rulers are among 75 recipients listed for the awards of Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON).

They include Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos); Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (Kwara); Abdullahi Umar Ganduje (Kano); Yayaha Bello (Kogi); Adedapo Abiodun (Ogun); Senator Hope Uzodinma (Imo). Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe); Mohammed Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa); Udom Gabriel Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom) and Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (Adamawa).

Former governors such as Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola (Osun); Senator Muhammad Adamu Aliero (Kebbi); Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko (Sokoto); Senator Henry Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa); Senator Ali Modu Sheriff (Borno) and Senator Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe) will also be conferred with CON, alongside incoming First Lady, Senator Oluremi Tinubu; Senator Lilian Ekwunife; Senator Abu Ibrahim; Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir; Senator Philip Tanimu Aduda; and Senator Kabir Garba Marafa among others.

The Executive Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Abdulrasheed Bawa; legal luminaries: Chief Adeniyi Akintola (SAN), Augustine Oyarekhua Alegeh (SAN) and Rotimi Jacobs (SAN), among others also made the CON list. Malam Garba Shehu, the president’s Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity; Laolu Akande, the Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity (Office of the Vice President) and the Permanent Secretary, State House, Tijjani Umar, are to receive the Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON).

The president’s personal photographers for the eight years of his administration, Bayo Omoboriowo; Tolani Alli, Personal Photographer to the Vice President; Adamu Sambo, NTA Correspondent and Emmanuel Anrihi, NTA Cameraman, are listed for MFR.  Sunday Aghaeze, another Buhari’s personal photographer; and Tolu Ogunlesi, the Special Assistant to the President on Digital and New Media, bagged Member of the Order of the Niger (MON).

All the award recipients were asked to send a soft copy of their citation or resume to the ministry before May 31.

The ministry also expects the recipients to be physically present for the collection of their medals and certificates scheduled for June 1, 2023.

Nigerians are now earning dollars with premium domains, these domains can be acquired for $1500-$2000 profit margin can be as much as $15,000 to $20,000. Click here to learn how to earn dollars.

%d bloggers like this: