Buhari appoints 41 non-career ambassadors | Dailytrust

Buhari appoints 41 non-career ambassadors

President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated 41 non-career ambassadors-designate.

The president also nominated one career ambassador-designate representing the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The nominations was contained in a letter Buhari addressed to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, requesting the confirmation of the nominees.

The president’s letter was read by Lawan after the Red Chamber emerged from an executive session on Wednesday.

This is coming weeks after the Senate confirmed 42 career ambassadors-designate nominated by the president.

The president’s letter reads: “In accordance to section 171 (1),(2)(c) & sub-section (4) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the underlisted 41 names of nominees as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.

“Copies of their Curriculum Vitae are attached herewith.”

The list showed that Kano, Kwara and Oyo had three nominees each, two each from Benue, Borno and Adamawa, while the rest, except Abia and FCT, had one nominee each.

Senator Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) raised an observation that FCT was not represented in the president’s list of non-career ambassadors-designate and asked the Senate to ensure that his constituency is included.

The nominees are: Engr Umar Suleiman (Adamawa); L.S. Mandama (Adamawa); Oboro Effiong Akpabio (Akwa Ibom); Chief Elejah Onyeagba (Anambra); Abubakar D. Ibrahim Siyi (Bauchi); Philip K. Ikurusi (Bayelsa); Hon. Tarzcor Terhemen (Benue); Paul Oga Adikwu (Benue); Al-Bishir Ibrahim Al-Hussain (Borno); Brig Gen. Bwala Yusuf Bukar (Borno); Prof. Monique Ekpong (Cross River); Oma Djebah (Delta); Ominyi N. Eze, Ebonyi (Ebonyi); Yamah Mohammed Musa (Edo); Maj. Gen. C. O. Ugwu (Enugu); and Dr. Hajara I. Salim (Gombe).

Others are: Obiezu Ijeoma Chinyerem (Imo); Ali M. Magashi (Jigawa); Prof. M. A. Makarfi (Kaduna); Hamisu Umar Takalmawa (Kano); Imam Galandanci (Kano); Amina Ado Kurawa (Kano); Amb. Yahaya Lawal (Katsina); Dare Sunday Awoniyi (Kogi); Ibrahim Kayode Laaro (Kwara), Abioye Bello (Kwara); Zara Maazu Umar (Kwara); Ademola Seriki (Lagos); Henry John Omaku (Nasarawa); Chief Sarafa Tunji Ishola (Ogun); Mrs. Nimi Akinkube (Ondo); Adejaba Bello (Osun); Adeshina Alege (Oyo); Debo Adesina (Oyo); Ms. Folakemi Akinyele (Oyo); Shehu Abdullahi Yibaikwai (Plateau); Hon. Maureen Tamuno (Rivers); Faruk Yabo (Sokoto); Adamu M. Hassan (Taraba); Alhaji Yusuf Mohammed (Yobe); and Abubakar Moriki (Zamfara).

President Buhari also requested the Senate to confirm appointment of Idahahbon Williams Omoregie Henry as Commissioner representing Edo, Ekiti and Ondo in the Federal Civil Service Commission.

The president also forwarded for Senate’s confirmation, the appointment of Engr Usman Mahmud Hassan as commissioner representing Kaduna in the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410