✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters

APC sweeps National Assembly seats in Yobe

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the Senate and House of Representative seats in Yobe. The party won all the three seats in…

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the Senate and House of Representative seats in Yobe.

The party won all the three seats in the Senate and the six seats for the House of Representatives.

In 2015 the party had won two seats in the Senate and six in the House of Representatives.

Monday’s results announced in Damaturu showed that the party has reclaimed the single seat it lost  to  the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2015.

Governor Ibrahim Gaidam, won the Yola East Senatorial seat, currently being occupied by a former governor of the state, Bukar Abba Ibrahim, defeating his PDP opponent Abbagana Tata.

According to Dr Aliyu Shehu, who was the Returning Officer, Gaidam polled 139,277 votes against his rival’s 18059 votes.

Similarly Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawan retained his seat for the Yobe North when he  defeated his closes rival, Sherif Abdullahi of the PDP.

The Returning Officer, Professor M.O. Aduloju, who announced the result, said Lawan polled 144,099 votes to defeat Tata who polled 18,059 votes.

Lawan has been in the National Assembly since the return to democracy in 1999. He served as a member of the House of Representatives for eight years before moving to the Senate in 2007.

The APC also took back the Yobe South Senatorial seat, which it lost to the PDP in 2015.

Alhaji Ibrahim Bomoi defeated the incumbent senator Hassan Mohammed.

The Returning Officer Professor Iwarere Henry of Federal University Gasgua, announced that the APC candidate has garnered 118,729 votes against the 89,049 votes polled by his opponent.

In the House of Representatives the immediate past Minister of State Minister for Foreign Affairs, Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim won back her seat.

The minister had resigned from the parliament when she was appointed minister by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2015.

She, however, resigned as a minister to contest the Gulani/Gujba/Damaturu/Tarmuwa Federal Constituency seat.

Announcing the result the Returning Officer, Professor Maimuna Waziri of Federal University Gashua, declared Khadija as winner having scored 78,953 votes against the candidate of the PDP, Habu Alhaji Babayo, who polled 10,508 votes.

APC retained the five other seats in the House of Representatives which it won in 2015.

Are you currently earning in Naira but need salary/earnings in Dollars? You have an opportunity to earn as much as $10,000 (₦9.2 million naira) monthly. Click here to get evidence.

%d bloggers like this: