APC gov’ship primaries: Omo-Agege, Cole, Nnaji, Idris, others clinch tickets | Dailytrust

APC gov’ship primaries: Omo-Agege, Cole, Nnaji, Idris, others clinch tickets

The Deputy Senate President, Chief Ovie Omo-Agege Thursday won the ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to contest the Delta State governorship election in 2023.

Omo-Agege at the party’s primary election held in Asaba, the state capital, polled a total of 1,190 votes to win the ticket unopposed.

A former Deputy President of the Nigerian Labour Congress, Nasir Idris also won the APC ticket to contest the Kebbi governorship election.

Announcing the result of the primary election yesterday in Birnin Kebbi, the state capital, the Chairman of the election committee, Yahuza Yakubu, said Idris scored 1,055 votes to beat his two opponents.

He added that of the 1,090 votes cast, the Senate Leader, Dr Yahaya Abdullahi got zero votes while Abubakar Gari Malam scored 35 votes.

In Rivers State, Tonye Cole, former chairman of Sahara Energy and an ally of former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, won the APC ticket.

Cole defeated three other candidates who turned up at the primary to emerge as the party’s governorship candidate in the state for the 2023 general elections. Mr. Cole polled a total of 986 votes.

Similarly, a Lagos-based business tycoon, Chief Uche Nnaji won the party’s ticket to contest the Enugu governorship election in 2023.


Parallel primaries in Ebonyi

Two governorship candidates emerged in separate primaries held yesterday in the Ebonyi State chapter of the party.

The former Chairman, Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC), Chief Elias Mbam, at an exercise held at his campaign office, polled 741 votes to defeat Mr Francis Nwifuru, Speaker of the Ebonyi House of Assembly, who polled 7 votes, Sen Julius Ucha 4 votes and Mrs Rosemary Ofoke 1 vote.

However, Rt. Hon Nwifuru won the primaries held at state township stadium, Abakaliki, polling 743 delegate votes to defeat other aspirants.

Meanwhile, some APC members in Benue State were stranded on Thursday as they waited endlessly for the commencement of the party’s governorship primary election.

Daily Trust reports that the party members as at 6pm were still waiting for the arrival of officials and election materials.

Zulum, Buni, Sule, Matawalle, Sanwo-Olu, Inuwa, Abdulrazaq, Abiodun, pick return tickets

Borno State Governor, Professor Babagana Umara Zulum who was the sole aspirant also won his return ticket at the primary held at the El-Kanemi Sports Centre in Maiduguri.

Uba Maigari Ahmadu, Chairman of the APC Governorship and House of Assembly Primaries for Borno State, announced that Zulum polled 1,411 votes to emerge the winner.

Zulum, in his acceptance speech, thanked delegates and stakeholders after which he revealed his position on the calls for him to become vice president.

“I thank those who may be considering me for the position of VP, I prefer to stay back and work drastically for the people of Borno State because for me as a citizen of Borno State, working with others to hastily rebuild Borno State is the most urgent need and it is beyond any aspiration.”

The Yobe State Governor, Mai Mala Buni was yesterday returned unopposed. He was unanimously affirmed by 805 delegates. 

Declaring the election result, the Chairman, Yobe APC Electoral Panel, Umar Lawan Kareto said Buni, having scored the highest votes returned elected.

The Nasarawa State Governor, Abdullahi Sule was also declared the winner of the APC primaries. Announcing the result, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mr Isa Ibeto, said the governor pulled a total of 698 votes to defeat his closet rival Dr. Fatima Abdullahi who scored only 3 votes in the contest.

In Kwara, Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq emerged as the party’s candidate to contest for the second term of office come 2023.

The governor was elected through affirmation by five delegates each from 193 wards, making a total of 965 accredited delegates during the governorship primaries held in Ilorin, the state capital.

Similarly, Governor Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State won the APC’s ticket to run for a second term. Chairman of the governorship primary committee, Dr Danjuma Dabo declared him winner yesterday in Gombe, after affirmation through a voice vote by delegates of the party.

Dr Dabo said 563 delegates out of 570 accredited for the exercise, affirmed the nomination of the governor through voice vote.

Governor Bello Mohammed Matawalle of Zamfara State equally clinched the return ticket of the APC after the party’s primary election held in Gusau, the state capital.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu emerged winner of the APC governorship primary in Lagos State after polling 1,170 votes.

Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State equally emerged as the flag-bearer of the party. Abiodun clinched the party’s governorship ticket at the primaries held at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta, to contest for a second term.


By Umar Muhammed (Lafia), Mumini AbdulKareem (Ilorin), Haruna G. Yaya (Gombe), Tony Adibe (Enugu), Hassan Ibrahim (Maiduguri), Shehu Umar (Gusau),  Christiana T. Alabi (Lagos), Peter Moses (Abeokuta), Victor Edozie (Port Harcourt), Tony Adibe (Enugu), Nabob Ogbonna (Abakaliki),  Aliyu M. Hamagam (Birnin Kebbi),  Hope A. Emmanuel ( Makurdi) & Baba Saleh


Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410