✕ CLOSE Online Special City News Entrepreneurship Environment Factcheck Everything Woman Home Front Islamic Forum Life Xtra Property Travel & Leisure Viewpoint Vox Pop Women In Business Art and Ideas Bookshelf Labour Law Letters
Click Here To Listen To Trust Radio Live

APC declares Ondo Primary election inconclusive

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has declared the Ondo State governorship Primary Election inconclusive. Governor Usman Ododo of Kogi State, who chaired the committee that…

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has declared the Ondo State governorship Primary Election inconclusive.

Governor Usman Ododo of Kogi State, who chaired the committee that organised the election, announced this in a statement.

He said polls will be conducted in all 13 wards of Okitipupa Local Government Area of the state by 12 noon on Sunday.

“Having received reports of the primary election from the 203 wards in the 18 local governments of Ondo State, the primary election committee has decided that election will be conducted in all the 13 Wards of Okitipupa local government with total validated registered members of 9,515, because of validated reports that the exercise did not hold in the local government due to late arrival of materials and personnel as a result of logistics challenges.”

“Election in Okitipupa local government shall be conducted 12 noon on Sunday 21st April 2024. The final collation of the results will be done thereafter.

“I have received reports from our committee members and security agencies as well as NGOs monitoring the election including video footage and I can say that the process has been transparent and we are going to produce a candidate that will unify the APC ahead of the November 2024 governorship election in the state.” the statement read.

Daily Trust reports that the election was contested by 16 governorship aspirants, including the incumbent governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa.

Others are Isaac Kekemeke; Olusoji Ehinlanwo; Olugbenga Edema; Jimoh Ibrahim; Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo; Akinfolarin Samuel; Adewale Akinterinwa; Olusola Oke; Ohunyeye Felix; Morayo Lebi; Garvey Iyanjan; Dayo Faduyile; Judith Omogoroye; Ifeoluwa Oyedele and Okunjimi John.

The national leadership of the party, chaired by Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, had declared a “direct mode” as the option for electing the governorship flag-bearer in the state.

Before the commencement of the exercise, the seven-man committee headed by Ododo had assured the aspirants of a credible and transparent election. But despite the assurance, four of the aspirants kicked and demanded the cancellation of the exercise.

The aggrieved aspirants – Wale Akinterinwa, Olusola Oke, Olugbenga Edema and Dayo Faduyile accused Ododo’s committee of perpetrating fraud in the exercise.  They asked the embattled national chairman of the party, Ganduje to remove Ododo or cancel the primary.

The aggrieved aspirants explained that they no longer trusted the ability of the Kogi governor to conduct a credible and transparent exercise.

Speaking to journalists, the aggrieved aspirants, led by Olugbenga Edema, warned that the action of the committee, if not properly handled, might affect the outcome of the governorship poll slated for November 16.



He alleged that the committee refused to send materials meant for the primary to his Mahin Ward II in Ilaje Local Government, saying the exercise was being shielded to favour an unnamed aspirant.


Join Daily Trust WhatsApp Community For Quick Access To News and Happenings Around You.

UPDATE: Nigerians in Nigeria and those in diaspora can now be paid in US Dollars. Premium domains can earn you as much as $17,000 (₦27 million).

Click here to start earning.