APC Crisis: Akpanudoedehe remains APC Secretary, Nabena says | Dailytrust

APC Crisis: Akpanudoedehe remains APC Secretary, Nabena says

APC Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena
APC Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena

Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Hon. Yekini Nabena, has condemned the purported sack of the national secretary of the party, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe, saying only National Executive Committee (NEC) can exercise such power.

A letter containing a vote of no confidence on the national secretary emerged Thursday morning revealing that a full quorum of the Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee, CECPC, consisting of 10 members signed a letter sacking Senator Akpanudoedehe.

But responding to the purported sack while speaking with newsmen at the APC national secretariat, Nabena said such sacking can not stand anywhere.

The APC chieftain said those who signed the said sack letter have no power to remove the Secretary.

“What they need is two-thirds of NEC – NEC members and not appointed members.

“The governors are elected, so they are members of NEC, the President is a member of NEC.

“So, whatsoever Stella Okotete and co were doing amounted to nulity because they don’t have the power, they have failed to read their party constitution.”

“In short, they are seen as borrowed members of NEC in the first place, some of them, except the governors among them, are not authentic members of NEC. So, it is an exercise in futility,” he said.

The CECPC has been running the party since its inauguration on June 25, 2020, following the dissolution of the Adams Oshiomhole-led National Working Committee (NWC).

Senator Akpanudoedehe is being embattled as a result of a conflict of interest ahead of the party’s national convention slated for next week Saturday.

Members of the Caretaker Committee who signed the document sacking the Secretary are Niger State governor, Sani Bello; a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani; Senator Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf, Prof Tahir Mamman, David Lyon, Akinremi Olaide, Barrister Ismaeel Ahmed, Dr James Lalu, Stella Okotete.

The document is dated March 8, 2022.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410