Abia LG Elections: PDP Sweeps all Chairmanship seats | Dailytrust

Abia LG Elections: PDP Sweeps all Chairmanship seats

PDP logo
PDP logo

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Abia State has swept all Chairmanship seats of the 17 local government areas in the LG polls conducted in the state on December 18.

Announcing the results of the elections at the Headquarters of the Abia State Independent Electoral Commission, Umuahia,  the chairman of the electoral body, Prof. Mkpa Agu Mkpa, explained that the late announcement of the results stemmed from a rerun in Umunneochi Local Government Area following disruptions by suspected thugs.

In Aba South Local Government Area, the PDP Candidate, Clinton Ebere, was returned unopposed as no other party fielded a candidate. He polled 20,321 votes, while in Aba North, the All Progressives Congress polled 3,492 votes while the People’s Democratic Party’s candidate, Prince Ikonne polled 29,851 votes to emerge winner.

In Arochukwu Local Government Area, Prince Dan Kalu returned unopposed with a total of 15,620 votes.

At Bende, the APC candidate got 2,320 votes while PDP’s  Onwuchekwa Emmanuel got 33,561 votes to emerge as chairman of the local government.

APC polled 110 votes, while Mpamugo Stephen of the PDP got 8,720 votes to emerge victorious in Ikwuano Local Government Area.

The Twist

But there was a twist in the councillorship seats in Ikwuano. The Labour Party swept all the wards leaving only two for the People’s Democratic Party in the local government.

In Isiala Ngwa North, Ochulor Chinwendu of the PDP emerged victorious with 18,323 votes, while APC got 210 votes.

The story is the same in Isiala Ngwa South where Ikechukwu Anyatonwu of the PDP emerged winner unopposed with a total of 17,405 votes.

Chimaeze Agbaeze of the PDP polled 15,630 votes to defeat the APC candidate who scored 1,200 votes, in Isuikwuato Local Government Area.

Obingwa was a landslide as Michael Ibe Nwoke of the PDP polled 79,640 votes to defeat his APC rival who got 5 votes.

At Ohafia Local Government Area of the State, APC polled 3,520 votes to trail Okoroafor Ukiwe of the PDP who polled 28,671 votes to claim the day.

Osisioma Ngwa saw the APC scoring only 10 votes while the PDP garnered 26,820 votes to elect Christian Kamalu as Chairman of the local government.

The people of Ugwunagbo elected their Chairman with a total of 28,800 votes for Mrs. Chinasaokwu Nnanta of the People’s Democratic Party as against the APC candidate who got 120 votes.

Nwagbara Chuks of the PDP emerged as the newly elected Local Government Chairman of  Ukwa East with 6,235 votes, while APC polled 136 votes.

At Ukwa West, Kanu Okechukwu Levi was elected the new Chairman with 9,640 votes while APC polled 804 votes.

For the people of Umuahia North, Njinkonye Ugochukwu of the PDP is their choice candidate as he polled 29,931 votes, while APC polled 25 votes.

The story is not different in Umuahia South where Benson Humphrey has been elected by the people to pilot the affairs of the local government as he polled 11,480 votes against his APC rival who polled 58 votes.

For Umunneochi where there was a rerun, the PDP candidate, Madu Ifeanyi carried the day with 6,971 votes as against his APC rival that got 188 votes.

Despite the skirmishes recorded in Bende and Umunneochi Local Governmet Areas, the head of ABSIEC Prof. Mkpa Agu Mkpa, described the election as violence free.

He however, called on the new elected Chairmen and Councilors to ensure speedy development of the grassroots.


Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. Sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410