6 years after, FG inaugurates EFCC board | Dailytrust

6 years after, FG inaugurates EFCC board

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) and Chairman, Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha
The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) and Chairman, Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha

The Federal Government has inaugurated the 23-member governing board of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, inaugurated the board in Abuja on Thursday, asking members to put in their best to combat financial and economic crimes in Nigeria.

He noted that the board members are creations of the enabling statutes of the various institutions, with the main responsibility of giving policy direction to the commission’s management.

EFCC Chairman, AbdulRasheed Bawa, who is also the chairman of the board, noted that the commission had been without a board for six years sequel to series of events that warranted its non-existence.

He said the board would help the EFCC spearhead the policy direction on the huge challenges it was currently facing in fighting crimes in the country.

“EFCC has managed to set a new record in terms of recovery as well as conviction. Last year alone, we recorded 2,220 convictions, which were the highest ever recorded within one calendar year by EFCC,” Bawa said.

Members of the board are: Luqman Muhammad, Anumba Adaeze, Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina, and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad.

Institutional representatives are Haruna Nuhu Koko (DSS), Reginald Chukwudi Karawusa (Security and Exchange Commission), Pius Agboola (National Insurance Commission), Salisu Abdu (Nigerian Communications Commission), Nwakaego Celine Nwajei (Nigerian Postal Service), Justine Nidiya (Corporate Affairs Commission), U.G Mohammed (Nigeria Customs Service), Muhammed Aminu Muhammed (Nigerian Immigration Service), Umar Maman Sanda (Nigeria Police Force), Emmanuel Andrew Naman (National Intelligence Agency) and Ibrahim Abdul (National Drug Law Enforcement Agency).

Others are Gabriel Christopher (Federal Ministry of Finance), Adamu Shaibu (Ministry of Foreign Affairs), Jeremiah Abue (Central Bank of Nigeria), Galadima Yusufari Gana (Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation); while a representative of the Ministry of Justice, George Abang Ekpungu, is the secretary to the commission.

Dear Reader,
Every day, we work hard to provide readers such as you with the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive information. Quality journalism costs money. Today, we're asking that you support us to do more. Your support means that Daily Trust can keep offering journalism to everyone in the world. sign up for as little as N1,000 to become a member. Learn more about our membership here

Bank transfers can be made to:
Zenith Bank
Media Trust Ltd

Please send details of your bank transfer to the email or Whatsapp number below so that we can contact you.

If you have any questions, please let me know.

Email: membership@dailytrust.com
Whatsapp: +234 806 990 3410